New Magic Item: Malbolgian Louse Prod  

Posted by Spenser Isdahl in , ,

The reptilian devil rounded on Ira, turning its back on the herd of ogre-sized lice scurrying about behind it. Its writhing beard twitched in irritation before it hefted the iron staff it'd been prodding the lice with only moments ago and leveled the weapon at Ira's chest, its end crackling to life with sparks of electricity. The devil sneered at Ira's look of hesitation, revealing its grimy teeth and bleeding gums. This was not going to be fun...

Malbolgian Louse Prod
Aura moderate evocation; CL 7th
Slot —; Price 20,000 gp; Weight 12 lbs.

Description

This item appears as an iron rod no longer than a human forearm until it is extended to its full length, as a move action, into a ten-foot long pole with a two-pronged fork holding a magical electric charge jutting from one end. These items were originally used to herd and control Hell lice on Malbolge (see page 64 of the Fiendish Codex II: Tyrants of the Nine Hells), the sixth layer of Hell, though many have made their way to mortal markets as weapons. The prod begins each day with 5 charges. The prod requires two hands to wield and has the reach weapon quality. As long as the prod has at least 1 charge remaining, its wielder can make a melee touch attack with it that deals 1d8 electricity damage and sickens the target for 1 round (Fortitude DC 16 negates). The wielder can spend 1 or more charges as a standard action to produce the following effects.

1 charge: The wielder may make an attack with the prod, as described above, which deals an additional 2d8 electricity damage.
2 charges: The wielder may make an attack with the prod, as described above, which deals an additional 3d8 electricity damage.
3 charges: All creatures in a 60-foot line take 5d8 electricity damage (Reflex DC 15 halves).

Construction

Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, lightning bolt; Cost 10,000 gp (+800 XP for D&D)

This entry was posted on February 10, 2010 at Wednesday, February 10, 2010 and is filed under , , . You can follow any responses to this entry through the comments feed .

2 comments

Can you use it as a staff if you do not want to zap something with it?

February 10, 2010 at 4:08 PM

I suppose so, but be careful with the zappy end :-/

February 12, 2010 at 7:23 PM

Post a Comment